Drabble #1

A/n: This is just a little story I’d started and never finished, so I’m going to post its finished self here. It’s a little gory, so be warned if you get squeamish about that kind of thing.


Blood was everywhere she looked.

It was on the walls, the floor, the door and windows, and even splatters of it on the ceiling. In the center of the blood-painted room laid the headless body of Kat’s friend, surrounded by a big puddle of the dark red substance, while Fione’s decapitated head lay by the far wall, mouth open in a silent scream and lifeless eye gazing at her. The iron tang of her blood clogged Kat’s sense of smell and taste and bile rose in Kat’s throat. She covered her mouth with her hand as she hunched over. Tears escaped from the fifteen-year-old’s eyes, sliding down her face and over her hand, and grief roared within her. White noise seemed to appear in her ears and her sight narrowed onto her friend’s expression. She didn’t notice as her other friends joined her. She didn’t hear their gasps or their screams or their cries of horror.

Darkness crawled across Kat’s vision and she suddenly felt lightheaded, swaying where she stood until she collapsed, her body landing as a heap on the floor. Her eyes, however, never left the pained look on her friend’s face, not even when blood soaked into her clothes and covered her hair. As she slowly lost consciousness, only one thought rang within her head.

Who did this?

~~~

She felt weightless and as she opened her eyes, she was met with only darkness, which she was suspended in. She looked around her, “Where am I?” 

Suddenly, as if at the end of a hallway, a ray of light shined in front of her and she squinted her eyes, blocking them with her hand. When her eyes adjusted, she lowered her raised appendage and looked into the light. She felt it calling towards her and she walked closer. It got bigger until she was close enough and the sound of a door opening rang through her ear as the light reached forward and encompassed her form.

The sound of children’s  laughter was the first thing she noticed, then in front of her eyes she could see a backyard that stretched from a one-story house and ended by a forest. Within the field of grass was a younger version of herself, around the age of seven, and Fione, who was chasing around her friend with a big smile on her face and her blonde hair streaming behind her. They were playing tag and Fione was the “it”, while Younger Kat was the runner.

As Fione was just about to touch Younger Kat, the voice of an adult rang from within the house, halting the two friends as they turned to gaze at the brunette woman who appeared out of the house’s backdoor. Kat’s mother raised her hands to her mouth and called out to them, “Time to eat!”

Kat yelled back, “We’re coming!” as they raced each other to her mom. Older Kat followed behind them, invisible and her eyes dark with emotion.

She entered the house before the door closed shut behind her younger self, and watched as her loved ones sat around the dinner table with steaming, fresh-from-the-oven food stacked up on top of it. Kat’s father greeted the two children and Kat’s mother as they joined him at the table. Once everyone was set, they all began the dinner prayer to give thanks to their god before they got comfortable and began to eat. They conversed among each other, but sudden buzzing within Kat’s ears kept her from hearing their conversation. Bewildered, she rubbed her ears, a scowl setting onto her face.

The scene began to get dark and Kat’s eyes widened in realization. This is a dream and I’m waking up, she opened her eyes to see two worried and familiar aged faces peering down at her face.

“Mom…Dad?” She murmured drowsily, blinking and straightening herself on the bed, wait bed? Kat jerked her gaze away from her parents’ faces and looked below her to see the hospital bed she’d been laying on. Her eyes wondered from it to her arm which had a wire in it. Her brows furrowed as she gazed at the IV, then looked around her to see the rest of the hospital room. The ice blue walls and chlorine smell seared her senses and memories of blood painted walls flashed in her mind. Her eyes teared at the memory. “What happened?” she asked her parents as she turned to them. They looked at each other warily and she quickly said, “I know Fione’s -” she chocked, then breathed in and continued, “I know she’s dead, but w-what happened after I fainted?”

Frowning, her mother began, “… Noticing you had fainted your friend, Josh, had called the hospital, worried that you were also hurt – he said he’d been shocked at what he’d seen and he worried that you’d somehow gotten attacked as well – and brought you outside. At the same time one of your other friends – I think her name was Charlotte – called 911 and both the cops and ambulance arrived. You were taken to the hospital and the cops took statements from your friends, who all said that you came to Fione’s house for a game night. They told them that you had been the first to make it to the house and that you’d messaged about how Fione had gone to her room to get the game ready and that she hadn’t come out yet…” She shot a look at her daughter. Kat understood and nodded quietly in conformation. She continued, “They later stated that they arrived fifteen minutes after your message and joined you in the living room.”

Kat’s mother stopped and her Dad took the initiative. He continued the story, “You all waited in the living room for a few more minutes until they said you got really worried. You were also acting agitated and when Josh asked what was wrong, you had responded that you had a bad feeling. You went upstairs to see if Fione was okay.”

“I did,” Kat whispered, cutting off her father from continuing, “I went up to see if she was alright. I knocked on her door and when she didn’t answer, I knew something was wrong – I could feel it – and I-I opened the d-door.” Tears slipped from her eyes and she covered her mouth as she said, her voice muffled, “T-there was blood e-everywhere and I-I could s-smell it. I froze and I don’t remember if I screamed or not, b-but I do vaguely r-remember hearing my friends join me.” She swallowed and finished, “I f-fainted then I woke up here.”

She sobbed, crossing her arms over her middle, bending over them as if she was sick, her shoulders shaking with every cry. Without words, her parents went to her, wrapping their arms around her and they held their daughter as she let out her grief. They sat like that for the rest of the day.


End of Part 1

I may or may not write a second part to this, but if I do I’ll post it on here. Also I’ll post this and the second part (again: If I write it) in my book of one-shots on my Quotev Account. Please check it out as I also I have the first two chapters of my original story on there as well. Thanks for reading!

A/n: Sorry! I hope this color isn’t as bright!

3 thoughts on “Drabble #1

  1. Not to sound rude or anything of the like, but could you change that colored font to a dark blue? The brightness burns my eyes when I go to read it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *